Board Opportunities

The Cascade Symphony is supported by three boards: a Board of Managing Directors, an Advisory Board, and an Honorary Board. Each of these boards plays a vital function in the success of the Cascade Symphony.

Board of Managing Directors

The Board of Managing Directors is the working board that oversees the day-to-day operations of the Symphony. The majority of Managing Directors are members of the orchestra. We welcome your participation!If you would like to be considered for membership on our Board of Managing Directors, please email Kathleen Moellenberndt at moellenk(at)

Managing Directors:

  • Arnie Gunderson, President
  • Laura Heard, Vice President
  • Claire Rootjes, Secretary
  • Heather Hoskins, Treasurer
  • Kristina Bowman
  • Bruce Caldwell
  • Jo Caldwell
  • Barbara Coates Brannman
  • Norma Dermond
  • Heidi McBride Fritts
  • Rebecca Gillette
  • Ruth Keller-McFadden
  • David Little
  • Robert McBride
  • Roberta McBride
  • Kathleen Moellenberndt
  • Sam Nigh
  • Suzanne Ruff
  • Holly Sullivan
  • Diana Wigington

Advisory Board

Members of the Advisory Board lend valuable assistance in their areas of expertise:

  • Richard Asher
  • Frank DeMiero
  • Roupen Shakarian

Honorary Board

Endorsement and support is provided by members of the Honorary Board:

  • Gerard Schwarz, Conductor Laureate, Seattle Symphony
  • Yan Pascal Tortelier, Principal Conductor, BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
  • The Honorable Maria Cantwell, United States Senator from Washington
  • Gary Nelson, Snohomish County Councilman, Retired
  • Gary Haakensen, Deputy County Executive, Snohomish County
  • Rick Steves, Europe Through the Back Door, Host – PBS Rick Steves’ Europe

The work is rewarding, and we’d love to welcome you!

Comments are closed.